Rugby League - Australia and New Zealand to host 2017 World Cup

Australia and New Zealand have been announced as co-hosts for the 2017 Rugby League World Cup.

The Rugby League International Federation opted to play it safe in awarding the 15th competition to two of the "big three" ahead of South Africa, the only other bid on the table.

Chairman of the bid committee and RLIF vice-chairman Nigel Wood said: "This was not a simple decision but with fans of international rugby league buoyed by the recent success of RLWC2013, we were determined to get it right.

"Both bids were thoroughly compelling but the joint Australia/New Zealand bid was selected as the one with the greatest chance of success in providing more compelling games in world class environments in front of big, passionate crowds."