Dakar - Cars: Former champ Sainz takes early lead

Carlos Sainz won the opening car stage of the 2013 Dakar Rally after the short 13km trek from Lima to Pisco.

The 2010 champion completed the course in his Volkswagen in a time of seven minutes and 40 seconds to build up an early lead over Toyota's Lucio Alvarez who was eight seconds back.

In third place, a further two seconds back, was Guerlain Chicherit (SMG) and defending champion Nasser al-Attiyah, who like Sainz is in a Volkswagen, was fourth.

Stage One result

1 Carlos Sainz (ESP)7:40

2 Lucio Ezequiel Alvarez (ARG) +08

3 Guerlain Chicherit (FRA) +10

4 Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT) +10

5 Ronan Chabot (FRA) +12

6 Krzystof Holowczyc (POL) +34

7 Leonid Novitskiy (RUS) +34

8 Stéphane Peterhansel (FRA) +34

9 Giniel de Villiers (RSA) +35

10 Nani Roma (ESP) +37