Dakar - Bikes: Lopez wins stage as Despres keeps lead

Chile's Francisco Lopez won the third stage of the Dakar but KTM team-mate Cyril Despres managed to hang onto his overall lead.

After the 343km (243km timed special) trek from Pisco to Nazca, Lopez had produced the best time thanks to an effort of two hours 37 minutes and 54 seconds.

That left him just over a minute ahead of Paulo Goncalves (Husqvarna) in second while Despres was third four minutes and eight seconds back.

Despres leads Lopez in the overall standings by two minutes and 51 seconds with Norwegian Pal Ullevalseter (KTM) in third four minutes and 49 seconds back.

Stage Three result

1 Francisco Lopez Contardo (CHI) 2:37:54

2 Paulo Goncalves (POR) 2:39:02 +01:08

3 Cyril Despres (FRA) 2:42:02 +04:08

4 Alessandro Botturi (ITA) 2:42:59 +05:05

5 Kuba Przygonski (POL) 2:43:14 +05:20

6 Daniel Gouet (CHI) 2:44:29 +06:35

7 Gerard Farres (ESP) 2:44:52 +06:58

8 Frans Verhoeven (NED) 2:45:16 +07:22

9 Olivier Pain (FRA) 2:45:22 +07:28

10 Javier Pizzolito (ARG) 2:45:33 +07:39