Cycling - Sky name strong team for Tour Down Under

Team Sky will be led by Classics contenders Chris Sutton and Edvald Boasson Hagen at the season-opening Tour Down Under around Adelaide.

The pair have featured prominently at the race in the past, Australian Sutton winning the final stage of the race in 2010 and Norwegian Boasson Hagen finishing seventh on the overall standings two years later.

Luke Rowe, Ian Stannard, Geraint Thomas, Mathew Hayman and Bernhard Eisel complete the line-up for the race, which runs from January 22 to 27.

Sky have also announced they will participate at the People’s Choice Classic criterium on January 20, a precursor to the main event. Greg Henderson and Sutton posted a one-two for Sky at that race in 2010.