Cycling - Pozzato wins third Laigueglia title

Filippo Pozzato of Lampre Merida won a bunch sprint to claim the 50th Trofeo Laigueglia in Italy.

Pozzato, who won the 2004 and 2005 editions, came in ahead of fellow Italian Francesco Reda (Androni Venezuela) and Mauro Santambrogio (Vini Fantini) after an undulating 196.5km ride around Laigueglia on Italy’s Ligurian coast.

Pozzato is the first man to win the day race on three occasions.

He was helped by an excellent team performance from Lampre Merida, who dominated the race from the front.

There was a major attempt to spread the peleton by Italian champion Franco Pellizotti with 6km left, but Lampre hauled him back to set Pozzato up for the bunch sprint.

Provisional result:

1. Filippo Pozzato (Lampre Merida)

2. Francesco Reda (Androni Venezuela)

3. Mauro Santambrogio (Vini Fantini)

4. Diego Ulissi (Lampre Merida)

5. Anthony Roux (FDJ)