Cricket - Clarke wins player of year award

Australia captain Michael Clarke is the of the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy as the International Cricket Council player of the year.

Clarke, like England captain Alastair Cook, is taking part in his 100th Test as the Ashes moves to Perth.

The ICC announced the winners of their annual awards during teatime at the WACA, with Clarke also their Test cricketer of the year and Cook named as captain of a select world Test team.

Other winners included Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara, one-day international cricketer of the year, and India batsman Cheteshwar Pujara as the emerging player.

Ireland all-rounder Kevin O'Brien claimed the Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year award and English umpire Richard Kettleborough was top of his class on the ICC's elite panel.

The 2013 winners include:

Cricketer of the Year - Michael Clarke (Australia)

Test Cricketer of the Year - Clarke

Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year - Suzie Bates (New Zealand)

ODI Cricketer of the Year - Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)

Emerging Cricketer of the Year - Cheteshwar Pujara (India)

Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year - Kevin O'Brien (Ireland)

T20 Women's Cricketer of the Year - Sarah Taylor (England)