Bahrain Grand Prix - December F1 Bahrain test confirmed

Formula 1 teams will be allowed to test in Bahrain later this month following a request from Pirelli last month, the FIA announced on Monday.

The F1 Commission said it had agreed to change the sporting rules that ban testing until next year on safety grounds.

Teams will therefore be allowed to carry out a three-day tyre test at the Sakhir circuit from 17-19 December.

All teams were invited to the tests, but only Red Bull, Mercedes, Ferrari, McLaren, Force India and Toro Rosso accepted the offer.

The remaining five teams - Lotus, Sauber, Williams, Marussia and Caterham - will be absent.